Being a disciple

Jesus called some fishermen in Gallilea to follow him. They became his disciples. They were to be with him and learn from him. A disciple learns from and does what his master do.

When Jesus ascended to heaven, he said to his disciples:

“All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” – Matthew 28:18-20

So we are all called to be a disciple of Jesus, and to make disciples.
As disciples, we are called to follow Jesus, and do what he did.

“I tell you the truth, anyone who has faith in me will do what I have been doing. He will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father. And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Son may bring glory to the Father. You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” – John 14:12-14

What did Jesus do then?

At least I havent raised anyone from the dead lately. Sometimes I vitness when people are healed from sickness. But in my opinion it could me way more often. But i think one of the reason why we don’t see som much people getting healed today is that we just don’t pray for them. It is because of the cross that people are saved, healed and raised from the dead. And it is just as easy for God to heal someone as it is for him to forgive someone, and it is because of what Jesus did on the cross.

But he was pierced for our transgressions,
he was crushed for our iniquities;
the punishment that brought us peace was upon him,
and by his wounds we are healed.
Isaiah 53:8

Leave a Reply

